I will not become a pessimist about climate negotiations, I will not become a pessimist about climate negotiations, I will not become…

I typed it out 100 times today.  I will not become pessimistic about climate negotiations.  They might accomplish little, they might fail, but I still don’t believe it was a tragic situation.  We can still solve this problem. I will neither get depressed nor get my fiddle while Rome burns. Nope, I’m just going to keep working on the issue.  I will not become pessimistic about climate negotiations. This doesn’t mean being a blind optimist and accepting the celebrations that will be made as long as the global summit doesn’t devolve into a pushing match (and maybe even if it does).   It means not letting any bad news make us believe this is somehow inherent or permanent.  I will not become pessimistic about climate negotiations.  We can still work our way out of this situation.  People are doing good work and pessimism about climate negotiations might not help that work continue. Not a long post today, just an affirmation I had to give myself.  Still hopeful!  But even if it goes poorly, I’ll be realistic about the situation, but I will not accept that this is some tragedy which was beyond our control.

So, Lullaby of the Commons says once again: I will not become pessimistic about climate negotiations.  (That is 104 times now)

Make sure to keep up with the negotiations in Doha at Earth Negotiations Bulletin: here you go.

One thought on “I will not become a pessimist about climate negotiations, I will not become a pessimist about climate negotiations, I will not become…

  1. Pingback: Ambition Gap: Important issue or side-show at the Doha Conference? « Lullaby of the Commons

Leave a comment